Finals Week at LU

Print news story

Exam week stressing you out? Don’t let it!

By: Madison Reasor

Students at Liberty University are beginning to take exams, and some say exam week is the hardest week of the semester to get through.

Even though studying is a very important part of some student’s success, you should not skip out on sleep just to study for an exam. Students should study, and should study everyday, or whenever needed for consistency.

Studying for exams could be a big part of how the person does overall in a class. I went around the library at Liberty University and asked several students why they study for exams, the night before. Most of them told me that they think it helps them remember the content.

I talked to five students about their time during exams and what they do before and during exam week. Three of them said they study the night before and the other two said that they study in advance.

With my results, I see that the students should study before hand and not the night before. Keep in mind I only talked to five people that I saw in the library at Liberty University.

There were a few students who told me they study a few days before exams and also the night before, but they do not stay up all night. Some students know that staying up all night can actually be worse than not staying up all night.

Tariro Moyo, student at Liberty University told me that before she came to Liberty University she knew that exam week was going to be challenging but she did not know how challenging it was going to be. People tell stories about what college and what exam week is really like, but people really do not get the full experience until they experience it themselves.

“I am about to be a junior in college and I am still looking for new ways to study so I can find out which things work for me and which things do not,” Moyo said.

I also asked each of the students what helps them get through exam week. Each student had the same idea. A few of them said that they prayed to get through the week, and of course each of them added studying to that.

If you wait until the last minute to study for exams, cram, you could end up with a worse grade than you had before. Moyo told me that when she was in high school she often struggled with tests because she would cram and do things the last minute but at the time she did not even care about her grades she just wanted to get out of school.

A students stress level can be changed by when they study. For example, if a student is really stressed out before they study for their exams and before they take their exams they will not perform to the best of their ability.

The advice I have for college student taking their exams is do not wait until the last minute to study for your exams.

Words 516

Broadcast

 

Web news story

Exam week begins, don’t let it stress you out

By: Madison Reasor

Students at Liberty University have begun to take exams, did you know that a lot of students wait until the last minute to study for exams. The most stressful week of college is always exam week.

Kristen Hallstrom, a sophomore at Liberty told me she waits the night before to study for her tests and her exams.

“I feel like when I study the night before, I remember it better the next morning instead of studying the week before and not remembering anything,” Hallstrom said.

According to UCLA, sleep is more important than studying and cramming for an exam. These days, some students are staying up all night to study instead of sleeping and that is not helping them in the long run.

“When I have my own study schedule, I get more work done. I remember everything I was studying. I believe that studying and having a schedule is very beneficial for me,” Tariro Moyo, student at Liberty said.

“I pass the classes but studying the night before didn’t help me retain the knowledge,” Hallstrom said.

As you can see, studying the night before does not seem to be very beneficial to these students. It might seem like a good idea at the time, but the next morning the students regret it.

This USA Today article says, “After staying up all night, you’ll likely remember less of everything you studied and your ability to reason your way to answers you’re unsure of will be severely diminished.”

“I did not realize how much I need to study for my exams, from now on I am going to study three to four days before my exam. Moderation is key to passing your exam,” Hallstrom said.

According to the USA Today article a tip for studying says people need to figure out if they study better at night or during the day.

Words 319

STUDENTS HERE AT LIBERTY UNIVERSITY ARE BEGINNING TO STUDY FOR EXAMS AT THE JERRY FALWELL LIBRARY// I AM HERE ON WEDNESDAY, THE DAY BEFORE EXAMS START TO SEE HOW MANY PEOPLE ARE HERE IN THE LIBRARY STUDYING AND IT IS PACKED// THIS WEEK AT LIBERTY, THERE WILL BE EVENTS TO HELP STUDENTS NOT BE SO STRESSED OUT SUCH AS MASSAGE CHAIRS AND GAMES//

Words: 63

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

